THEATER FREIBURG Kleines Haus
Star Boy Collective & Ahilan Ratnamohan

Reverse Colonialism! // Performance

Cameroon/Belgium/Australia/Nigeria

100% solution-oriented | 45% free choice | 360% change of perspective

Thu 26.05.22,  9:00 – 9:50 pm   Tickets
Fr 27.05.22,     7:00 – 9:20 pm   Tickets

In English language / Artist talk afterwards

Three performers from Cameroon and Nigeria living in Belgium try to solve the troublesome migration-integration debacle. Their answer? A new country for African Europeans and European Africans! But before this utopian state can be built, some questions have to be answered, and the audience is allowed to join in. How and especially where should this promised land be? In the northwest of France, where there is already a high concentration of (African) migrants, whether legal or illegal? Or better in Central Africa, which is rich in raw materials? Rules have to be established regarding family, religion, form of government, etc. Like in an election debate, the various socio-political drafts are presented to the viewers, discussed and voted on.

Reverse Colonialism! emerged from the sobering living situation of the twelve members of the Star Boy Collective - all former footballers from West Africa - who, after several years of uncertainty, now all live legally in Belgium, but have little prospect of more than unskilled labor jobs. The collective, which brings a breath of fresh air to the Belgian art scene, turns the tables in this politically charged performance and takes a self-confident, uncensored and provocative look at a possible future. Join us to decide: "Africa United" or "New Africa"?

Director: Ahilan Ratnamohan
Project Development: Etuwe Bright Junior, Aloys Kwaakum, Lateef Babatunde
Media Artist: Andrew Fain
Executive Media Artist: Frederick Rodrigues
Dramaturgy: Kristof Persyn
Light: Hanne Dick

With: Etuwe Bright Junior, Aloys Kwaakum, Lateef Babatunde, Ahilan Ratnamohan

www.aculturedleftfoot.com

"In Reverse Colonialism! theater-maker Ahilan Ratnamohan confronts us in a rare and vivid way with our relationship to Africa and African migrants. A relationship defined by our colonial past and present, of which, sadly, we are all too rarely aware."

-  Joost Ramaer, Theaterkrant

THEATER FREIBURG Kleines Haus
Star Boy Collective & Ahilan Ratnamohan

Reverse Colonialism! // Performance

Kamerun/Australien/Nigeria/Belgien

100% lösungsorientiert | 45% freie Wahl | 360% Perspektivwechsel

Do 26.05.22, 20:00 – 21:50 Uhr  Tickets
Fr 27.05.22, 19:00 – 20:20 Uhr   Tickets

In englischer Sprache und mit anschließendem Künstler_innengespräch an beiden Terminen! Am 26.05.22 im Anschluss an die Eröffnung!

Drei Performer aus Kamerun und Nigeria, die in Belgien leben, versuchen das lästige Migrations-Integrations-Debakel zu lösen. Ihre Antwort? Ein neues Land für afrikanische Europäer_innen und europäische Afrikaner_innen! Aber bevor dieser utopische Staat errichtet werden kann, müssen einige Fragen geklärt werden, und das Publikum darf mitmischen. Wie und vor allem wo soll dieses gelobte Land sein? Im Nordwesten Frankreichs, wo es ohnehin schon eine hohe Konzentration an (afrikanischen) Migrant_innen gibt, ob legal oder illegal? Oder doch besser im rohstoffreichen Zentralafrika? Es gilt, Regeln festzulegen bezüglich Familie, Religion, Regierungsform etc. Wie in einer Wahldebatte werden die verschiedenen gesellschaftspolitischen Entwürfe den Zuschauer_innen präsentiert, es wird diskutiert und abgestimmt.

Reverse Colonialism! entstand aus der ernüchternden Lebenssituation der zwölf Mitglieder des Star Boy Collective – alles ehemalige Fußballer aus Westafrika –, die nach einigen Jahren der Unsicherheit nun alle legal in Belgien leben, jedoch kaum Aussicht auf mehr als Hilfsarbeiterjobs haben. Das Kollektiv, das frischen Wind in die belgische Kunst-Szene bringt, dreht in dieser politisch aufgeladenen Performance den Spieß um und blickt selbstbewusst, unzensiert und provokant auf eine mögliche Zukunft. Entscheiden Sie mit: „Africa United“ oder „New Africa“?

Regie: Ahilan Ratnamohan
Projektentwicklung: Etuwe Bright Junior, Aloys Kwaakum, Lateef Babatunde
Medienkünstler: Andrew Fain
Ausführender Medienkünstler: Frederick Rodrigues
Dramaturgie: Kristof Persyn
Licht: Hanne Dick

Es spielen: Etuwe Bright Junior, Aloys Kwaakum, Lateef Babatunde, Ahilan Ratnamohan

www.aculturedleftfoot.com

"In Reverse Colonialism! konfrontiert uns der Theatermacher Ahilan Ratnamohan auf seltene und lebhafte Weise mit unserer Beziehung zu Afrika und den afrikanischen Migranten. Eine Beziehung, die durch unsere koloniale Vergangenheit und Gegenwart bestimmt ist und derer wir uns leider nur allzu selten bewusst sind.“

-  Joost Ramaer, Theaterkrant