THEATER FREIBURG Großes Haus
Isabelle Schad

Reflection // Dance Performance

Germany

100% dance award | 360% rotation | 69% reflection

Sat 28.05.22, 7:30 - 8:30 pm  Tickets

Artist Talk afterwards!

Bodies made of many break apart, disintegrate into their individual links and push themselves together again. The rotational force of the revolving stage as well as the theater machinery affect the bodies of the thirteen dancers. In Reflection, Isabelle Schad focuses on the forces that move us and on the power of individuals to move others. At the same time she reflects on the theater as a social gathering place, as a place of power, as a metaphor for life, transformation (and death). Suggested is a sense of urgency, a sense of bodies constantly "working," willing to seek out those collective and individual strategies we need to exist, to coexist, to endure. After two years of pandemic and surprisingly concrete threat to democracy, we experience anew the force but also the intimacy inherent in the interflowing community of dancers. This profound movement research is about perception, contemplation, change and perspective, and perhaps also a blueprint for a possibility to live together.

In 2019, Isabelle Schad received the German Dance Award as an "honor for outstanding development in contemporary dance." In her work, she explores the relationship between body, choreography, and (re)presentation, as well as themes such as community building and political engagement. She also opened the Dance Platform 2020 with Reflection.

Concept, Choreography: Isabelle Schad

Co-Choreography, Performance: Barbara Berti, Frederike Doffin, Ewa Dziarnowska, Naïma Ferré, Josephine Findeisen, Przemek Kamiński, Mathis Kleinschnittger, Manuel Lindner, Jan Lorys, Josh Marcy, Aya Toraiwa, Nir Vidan, Natalia Wilk
Dramaturgical and Artistic Collaboration: Saša Božić
Artistic Assistance: Claudia Tomasi
Composition and Music: Damir Šimunović
Lighting Design and Technical Direction: Emma Juliard
Technique: Dominik von Stillfried, Raoul Lesage
Costumes: Charlotte Pistorius
Costumes Assistance: Maja Svartåker
Theoretical Accompaniment: Elena Basteri
Production Management: Heiko Schramm

www.isabelle-schad.net

"For her (Isabelle Schad), who grew up with Bach's music, the St. Matthew Passion seems like a metaphor of recurring questions of life: disaster and war as well as beauties and miracles included. All this is allowed to hide as subtext in the abstract, concrete, formal, filigree playing arrangements and metamorphoses of `Reflections`."
- tanznetz.de

THEATER FREIBURG Großes Haus
Isabelle Schad

Reflection // Tanz

Deutschland

100% Tanzpreis | 360% Drehung | 69% Spiegelung

Sa 28.05.22, 19:30 - 20:30 Uhr  Tickets

Mit anschließendem Künstler_innengespräch!

Körper, die aus Vielen gemacht sind, brechen auseinander, zerfallen in ihre Einzelglieder und schieben sich wieder zusammen. Die Rotationskraft der Drehbühne sowie die Theatermaschinerie wirken auf die Körper der dreizehn Tänzer_innen ein. Isabelle Schad konzentriert sich in Reflection auf die Kräfte, die uns bewegen, und auf die Kraft Einzelner, Andere zu bewegen. Gleichzeitig reflektiert sie über das Theater als sozialen Versammlungsort, als Ort der Macht, als Metapher für Leben, Verwandlung (und Tod). Suggeriert wird dabei ein Gefühl der Dringlichkeit, ein Gefühl von Körpern, die ständig „arbeiten“, gewillt, jene kollektiven und individuellen Strategien aufzuspüren, die wir brauchen, um zu existieren, zu koexistieren, zu bestehen. Nach zwei Jahren Pandemie und überraschender konkreter Bedrohung der Demokratie, erleben wir die Wucht, aber auch die Innigkeit, die der ineinanderfließenden Gemeinschaft aus Tänzer_innen innewohnt, ganz neu. In dieser tiefgründigen Bewegungsrecherche geht es um Wahrnehmung, Betrachtung, Wandel und Perspektive und vielleicht auch um einen Entwurf für eine Möglichkeit, miteinander zu leben.

2019 erhielt Isabelle Schad den Deutschen Tanzpreis als „Ehrung für herausragende Entwicklung im zeitgenössischen Tanz“. In ihren Arbeiten lotet sie das Verhältnis zwischen Körper, Choreografie, und (Re-)Präsentation sowie Themen wie Gemeinschaftsbildung und politisches Engagement aus. Darüber hinaus eröffnete sie mit Reflection die Tanzplattform 2020.

Konzept, Choreografie: Isabelle Schad

Co-Choreografie, Performance: Barbara Berti, Frederike Doffin, Ewa Dziarnowska, Naïma Ferré, Josephine Findeisen, Przemek Kamiński, Mathis Kleinschnittger, Manuel Lindner, Jan Lorys, Josh Marcy, Aya Toraiwa, Nir Vidan, Natalia Wilk
Dramaturgische und künstlerische Zusammenarbeit: Saša Božić
Künstlerische Assistenz: Claudia Tomasi
Komposition und Musik: Damir Šimunović
Lichtdesign und Technische Leitung: Emma Juliard
Technik: Dominik von Stillfried, Raoul Lesage
Kostüme: Charlotte Pistorius
Kostümassitenz: Maja Svartåker
Theoretische Begleitung: Elena Basteri
Produktionsleitung: Heiko Schramm

www.isabelle-schad.net

„Die Matthäus-Passion wirkt für sie (Isabelle Schad), die mit Bachs Musik aufwuchs, wie eine Metapher wiederkehrender Fragen des Lebens: Desaster und Krieg wie auch Schönheiten und Wunder inbegriffen. Dies alles darf sich als Subtext in den abstrakten, konkreten, formalen, filigranen Spielanordnungen und Metamorphosen von 'Reflections' verbergen.
- tanznetz.de