E-WERK FREIBURG Kammertheater
Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere/CAMPO

Pleasant Island // Performance

Belgium

75% digital | 150% predatory | 0% romantic

Sun 29.05.22, 7:30 – 8:40 Uhr pm     Tickets
Mon 30.05.22, 7:30 – 8:40 Uhr pm    Tickets

English with German surtitles and Artist talk afterwards on 29.05.22!

British whalers. The island's history can almost be read as a parable of modern times: After the discovery of a huge phosphate reservoir, the small island state briefly belonged to one of the richest countries in the world. Every bit of land and every garden was dug up, right down to the last corner of the island - until the resources were completely exhausted. Within a short time, the island's population became impoverished. To generate state revenue, Nauru today interns refugees at Australia's behest.

Silke Huysmans and Hannes Dereere went on a research trip to Nauru for Pleasant Island. There they talked to residents and refugees. Due to the threat of repressive measures, they did without camera equipment and limited themselves to cell phones for the recording of interviews. The aesthetics of the smartphone also dominate the stage action. Its documentary immediacy points to the urgency of the situation: for the destroyed ecosystem of Naurus is a harbinger of an impending worldwide environmental catastrophe.

With Pleasant Island, Huysmans and Dereere continue their examination of the ecological and social consequences of the overexploitation of natural resources, which they began with the piece MiningStories. They intertwine conversations, analysis, and field research to create a striking polyphonic documentary theater piece.

By and with: Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere
Dramaturgy: Dries Douibi
Sound: Lieven Dousselaere
Technique: Anne Meeussen & Piet Depoortere

www.silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

"So what is heard and seen at Pleasant Island has special documentary value. The performance presents a composition of the reconstruction of its genesis, the aesthetics of the smartphone medium used by the artist couple, and the appearance of Huysmans and Dereere as witnesses and mediators."

- Helmut Ploebst,  Der Standard

E-WERK FREIBURG Kammertheater
Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere/CAMPO

Pleasant Island // Performance

Belgien

75% digital | 150% Raubbau | 0% Romantik

So 29.05.22, 19:30 – 20:40 Uhr     Tickets
Mo 30.05.22, 19:30 – 20:40 Uhr     Tickets

In englischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln und mit anschließendem Künstler_innengespräch am 29.05.22!

Nauru ist ein kleiner Inselstaat im Pazifik – einst von den britischen Walfängern „Pleasant Island“ getauft. Die Geschichte der Insel lässt sich geradezu als Parabel der Neuzeit lesen: Nach der Entdeckung eines riesigen Phosphatreservoirs gehörte der kleine Inselstaat kurzzeitig zu einem der reichsten Länder der Welt. Jedes Fleckchen Land und jeder Garten wurden bis in die letzte Ecke der Insel umgegraben – bis hin zur völligen Erschöpfung der Ressourcen. Binnen kurzer Zeit verarmte die Bevölkerung der Insel. Um Staatseinnahmen zu erzeugen, interniert Nauru heute auf australisches Geheiß Geflüchtete.

Silke Huysmans und Hannes Dereere begaben sich für Pleasant Island auf Recherchereise nach Nauru. Dort sprachen sie mit Einwohner_innen und Geflüchteten. Wegen drohender Repressalien verzichteten sie auf Kameraequipment und beschränkten sich für die Aufzeichnung von Interviews auf das Mobiltelefon. Die Ästhetik des Smartphones beherrscht auch das Bühnengeschehen. Die dokumentarische Unmittelbarkeit verweist auf die Dringlichkeit der Situation: Denn das zerstörte Ökosystem Naurus ist ein Vorbote für eine drohende weltweite Umweltkatastrophe.

Mit Pleasant Island setzen Huysmans und Dereere ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den ökologischen und sozialen Folgen des Raubbaus an natürlichen Ressourcen fort, die sie mit dem Stück MiningStories begannen. Sie verschränken Gespräche, Analysen und Feldforschung zu einem eindrucksvollen polyphonen Dokumentartheaterstück.

Von und mit: Silke Huysmans & Hannes Dereere
Dramaturgie: Dries Douibi
Ton: Lieven Dousselaere
Technik: Anne Meeussen & Piet Depoortere

www.silkehuysmanshannesdereere.com

„Was also bei Pleasant Island zu hören und sehen ist, hat besonderen Dokumentationswert. Die Performance zeigt eine Komposition aus der Rekonstruktion seiner Entstehungsgeschichte, der Ästhetik des von dem Künstlerpaar verwendeten Mediums Smartphone und dem Auftritt von Huysmans und Dereere als Zeugen und Vermittler.“

- Helmut Ploebst,  Der Standard